Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


India dominates again at 2019 J E Wilson Badminton tournament

The 2019 J.E. Wilson International Badminton tournament hosted in Accra, came to a successful end with Team India, becoming the talk of the tournament for the second consecutive time after dominating the tourney with the most medals.

The second edition of the four-day tournament, which started on Thursday, July 18 and ended on Sunday 21, attracted 101 badminton players and officials from 27 countries including Nigeria, India, Egypt, Ghana, Italy, Switzerland, Iceland, Vietnam, Poland and Malaysia

Team India having dominated in the maiden edition in 2018 continued with their impressive run of form to top all with a total of seven medals.

Host nation Ghana, won a bronze medal with Michael Opoku Baah and Daniel Sam beating Team Nigeria 21-17, 22-24 and 21-19 in the men’s doubles, alongside Maldives.

The competition served as an opportunity for Ghanaian players to amass more points to help them qualify for the Tokyo 2020 Olympics Games.

In the Mix Doubles final event, Ramchandran Shlok (Male) and Rutapana Panda (Female) from India defeated their country opponents Madathil R Arjun and K Manesha, 21-15, 21-19 to win gold medal while Team Egypt and Nigeria clinched the bronze medal.

Indian duo, Rutapana Panda and Moneesha K won the gold medals in Women’s Double by beating Dorcas Adesokan and Deborah Ukeh in the finals with Nigeria taking home the silver medal. Team Egypt and Iran took the Bronze medal in the same categories.

Moneesha R Arjun and Ramachandran Schlock from India won the gold medal in the Men’s Doubles with the Nigerian team of Godwin Olofua and Juwon Opegori claiming a silver medal.

In the other Singles finals, Nu Thing Thi fro Vietnam won the gold medal in the Women’s Singles after beating Magdha Agrey of India who clinched the Silver medal, whilst, Shivani Pathi from India and Hajia Hosny won the bronze.

However, in the Men’s Single, Kira George from India clinched the gold medal with Ade Resky Dwichahyo of Azerbaijan taking home the silver medal, whilst, Tien Minh Nguyen from Vietnam and Michael Rogalski from Poland also picking away the bronze medal.

Credit: GNA

You May Also Like


Ghanaian boxing legend, Azumah Nelson has been rated above Manny Pacquaio and just below Floyd ‘Money’ Mayweather in the list of the five greatest...


Carl Lokko, the man they affectionately call Osu Lion lived up to the warrior name after dispatching off big foe, Ishmael Benjamin Coffie AKA...


MTN Ghana has launched the second edition of MTN Conquest, Ghana’s most competitive e-sports event, to award top players, promote e-sports and bring together...


Ace sports journalist and ring announcer, Mohammed Amin Lamptey has been re-appointed the Communications Director of the Ghana Boxing Authority (GBA), it is official....