Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Yao Dogbe wins CalBank Open 2021 at Achimota Golf Club

CalBank Open 2021 has successfully ended at the premier Achimota Golf Club where Yao Dogbe walked the fairways and battled the greens to end atop the leaderboard as the overall winner.

Yao Dogbe who is a zero handicaper shot 5-under 67 in the Men Group A to lift the prize as the ultimate winner of the Open. With this score, Yao is ready to exert considerable dominance on the golfing landscape in Ghana and West Africa.

In the Men Group A where Dogbe placed second based on countback, Charles Darkwah and Daniel Asomeni ended with same net scores of 67 off handicap 10 and 5 respectively but were separated on countback for the first and third positions.

Cynthia Nyantakyi combined effective drives and approach shots to finish with a net score of 71 off handicap 12 in the Ladies Group A and ended as the overall Ladies winner after beating into second place Christine Furler who returned a net score of 72 off handicap 15, while Mercy Werner ended her campaign on a net score of 73 off handicap 11.

Meanwhile in the Men Group B, Michael Y Agbodzah stayed in contention for a first-place finish after carding a net score of 64 off handicap 20 while Dr. Nana Adutwum followed in second place after shooting a net score of 67 off handicap 24.

Ricus Turblanche closed the day on a net score of 68 off handicap 16 for the third place.

Patricia Adusei-Poku won in the Ladies Group B after returning a net score of 70 off handicap 32. Kunadu Agyeman followed in second place with a net score of 71 off handicap 33 while Lu Thi Kim Thao occupied the third position with same net score of 71 off handicap 23 but was separated on countback.

Men Winners for the Frank Adu Jr Prize were Yaw Barnafo who carded a net score of 70 off handicap 15 and Bismark Dapaah with a net score of 73 off handicap 16. Belinda Oppong went home with the Frank Adu Jr Ladies Prize with a net score of 73 off handicap 34.

Closest to the Pin for Men and Ladies went to Kwabena Acheampong and Kim Thao Jefcott respectively while Longest Drive Men and Ladies went to Church Ansah and Mercy Werner.

Emos Korblah shot a net score of 134 over his two-day campaign to win Pro’s Prize. E.K Osei and L. A Ayisaah shot 139 apiece for the second and third places respectively.

Credit: TheGolfer Online

You May Also Like


The British Boxing Board of Control (BBBofC) issued a memo today stating that they are “not considering applications for any Ghanaian boxers.” This means...

African Cup Of Nations

The Black Stars’ appearance in the 2021 edition will be their 23rd time and they will be keen to end their long awaited drought...

Combat Sports

Malaysia based multi decorated Ghanaian kickboxer, Gerald Dah is in high spirits ahead of his latest fight this Friday after safely landing in Kuala...

Africa Games

The Vice President, Dr Mahamudu Bawumia has donated GH¢50,000 to the Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) towards this year’s Awards night scheduled for...