Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

English Premier League

Havertz the hero again as Chelsea beat Palmeiras after extra time to become 8th European World Club Cup winner

Kai Havertz was once again the hero for UEFA Champions League holders Chelsea as they defeated Brazil’s Palmeiras 2-1 to win the FIFA Club World Cup for the first time.

The showpiece was heading for a penalty shoot-out when Chelsea earned a 117th-minute penalty after a handball from defender Luan. Up stepped Havertz – scorer of their 2021 UEFA Champions League winner – and the German made no mistake as the Blues became the eighth different European winners of the competition and the ninth in a row.

Romelu Lukaku opened the scoring for Thomas Tuchel’s side with a header ten minutes into the second half, the Belgian’s second of the tournament having stuck the only goal of the semi-final against Saudi Arabia’s Al Hilal. Raphael Veiga soon levelled from the spot, though, and Chelsea struggled to break

eiras down until Havertz broke their hearts.

Fixtures and results

03/02 Al Jazira 4-1 Pirae (first round)
05/02 Al Ahly 1-0 Monterrey (second round)
06/02 Al Hilal 6-1 Al Jazira (second round)
08/02 Palmeiras 2-0 Al Ahly (semi-finals)
09/02 Monterey 3-1 Al Jazira (fifth-place play-off)
09/02 Al Hilal 0-1 Chelsea (semi-finals)
12/02 Al Hilal 0-4 Al Ahly (third-place play-off)
12/02 Chelsea 2-1 Palmeiras (aet, final)

Who was playing at the Club World Cup?

Seven clubs qualified for the Club World Cup: Al Jazira Club (UAE), Pirae (Tahiti), Al Ahly (Egypt), Chelsea (England), Palmeiras (Brazil), Monterrey (Mexico) and Al Hilal (Saudi Arabia). Entering the competition in the semi-final stage, Chelsea and Palmeiras both won their matches to reach the final.

When and where was the Club World Cup?

This year’s tournament took place at two venues in Abu Dhabi and ran from 3 to 12 February.

How did Chelsea qualify for the Club World Cup?

Havertz scored the only goal as Chelsea beat Premier League rivals Manchester City in last season’s final to be crowned European champions for the second time. The UEFA Champions League holders join their counterparts from Asia, Africa, North and Central America and the Caribbean and South America, as well as a side nominated by the Oceania confederation and the national champions of the host nation, the United Arab Emirates, at the Club World Cup.

Which Chelsea players travelled for the Club World Cup?

Chelsea pose for a team photo before the final

Chelsea pose for a team photo before the final

Goalkeepers: Kepa Arrizabalaga, Marcus Bettinelli, Édouard Mendy*
Defenders: Antonio Rüdiger, Marcos Alonso, Andreas Christensen, Thiago Silva, Trevoh Chalobah, César Azpilicueta, Malang Sarr
Midfielders: Jorginho, N’Golo Kanté, Mateo Kovačić, Saúl Ñíguez, Ross Barkley, Mason Mount, Hakim Ziyech, Kenedy, Kai Havertz
Forwards: Romelu Lukaku, Christian Pulišić, Timo Werner, Callum Hudson-Odoi

*Travelled late following Senegal’s Africa Cup of Nations success

Who has won the Club World Cup?

Real Madrid 4 (2014, 2016, 2017, 2018)
Barcelona 3 (2009, 2011, 2015)
Bayern München 2 (2013, 2021)
Corinthians 2 (2000, 2012)
AC Milan 1 (2007)
Chelsea 1 (2022)
Internacional 1 (2006)
Internazionale Milano 1 (2010)
Liverpool 1 (2019)
Manchester United 1 (2008)
São Paulo 1 (2005)

Credit: UEFA

You May Also Like


The British Boxing Board of Control (BBBofC) issued a memo today stating that they are “not considering applications for any Ghanaian boxers.” This means...


Ghanaian boxing legend, Azumah Nelson has been rated above Manny Pacquaio and just below Floyd ‘Money’ Mayweather in the list of the five greatest...


Carl Lokko, the man they affectionately call Osu Lion lived up to the warrior name after dispatching off big foe, Ishmael Benjamin Coffie AKA...


MTN Ghana has launched the second edition of MTN Conquest, Ghana’s most competitive e-sports event, to award top players, promote e-sports and bring together...