Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Boxing

No Whyte, No Problem: Tyson Fury entertains at Open Workout

WBC/Lineal/Ring Magazine heavyweight world championTyson “The Gypsy King” Fury is comfortable as a solo artist.

After Dillian Whyte did not show up to Tuesday’s open workout in London, Fury thrilled the home fans on his own. Fury, who will battle Whyte on ESPN+ PPV this Saturday at Wembley Stadium, turned southpaw and went through the fight week paces with his head trainer, SugarHill Steward.

 

LONDON, ENGLAND – APRIL 19: Tyson Fury (R) does mittwork with SugarHill Steward (L) during the Tyson Fury & Dillian Whyte Media Work Out at Wembley Park on April 19, 2022 in London, England. (Photo by Mikey Williams/Top Rank Inc via Getty Images)

A crowd of more than 94,000 is expected for this all-UK showdown, which would be one of the largest audiences in combat sports history.

Without Whyte to share the spotlight, this is some of what Fury had to say.
 
“Frank Warren and the boys have done a fantastic job. It’s been a great promotion. Looking forward to a fantastic event.”

LONDON, ENGLAND – APRIL 19: Tyson Fury poses with the wbc heavyweight championship after the Tyson Fury & Dillian Whyte Media Work Out at Wembley Park on April 19, 2022 in London, England. (Photo by Mikey Williams/Top Rank Inc via Getty Images)

“I think it’s gonna be real for {Whyte}. If not today or tomorrow or this week, then as soon as I hit him in the mouth on Saturday night. Then, he knows it’s real!”

“I’ve been boxing quite a bit as a southpaw in camp. We’ll see. Whatever works. If that don’t work, we’ll switch off to orthodox. If that don’t work, we’ll switch back up. I might just go square on!”

LONDON, ENGLAND – APRIL 19: Tyson Fury gets ready for the Tyson Fury & Dillian Whyte Media Work Out at Wembley Park on April 19, 2022 in London, England. (Photo by Mikey Williams/Top Rank Inc via Getty Images)

On Whyte not showing up to the workout

“That’s Dillian’s concern. That’s none of my business. Dillian Whyte, I’m sure he’s got his reasons why he’s not here today. Whatever they are, good luck to him, and I’ll see him on the fight night.”

“I’ve said this is my last fight, and it will be.”

“I’m overwhelmed with the support I’ve had over the years. It’s been fantastic. 94,000 people, it’s unbelievable, it’s amazing stuff.”

LONDON, ENGLAND – APRIL 19: Tyson Fury (L) and SugarHill Steward (R) pose during the Tyson Fury & Dillian Whyte Media Work Out at Wembley Park on April 19, 2022 in London, England. (Photo by Mikey Williams/Top Rank Inc via Getty Images)

UPCOMING FIGHT WEEK SCHEDULE

Wednesday, April 20: Fury vs. Whyte Main Event Press Conference
2:30 p.m. UK/9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT

Streaming on the ESPN APP and Top Rank’s YouTube and Twitter pages

Thursday, April 21: Fury vs. Whyte Undercard Press Conference
12:30 p.m. UK/7:30 a.m. ET/4:30 a.m. PT

Streaming on Top Rank’s YouTube and Twitter pages

Friday, April 22: Fury vs. Whyte Weigh-In
2:30 p.m. UK/9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT
Live on ESPN2 and Top Rank’s YouTube and Twitter pages

Saturday, April 23: Fury vs. Whyte Fight Day
PPV Broadcast
2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT
CLICK HERE for ESPN+ Event Order Page

Fury vs. Whyte, 12 rounds, Fury’s WBC/Lineal/Ring Magazine Heavyweight titles

Anthony Cacace vs. Jonathan Romero, 10 rounds, Vacant WBO International Junior Lightweight title

Isaac Lowe vs. Nick Ball, 12 rounds, Vacant WBC Silver Featherweight title

David Adeleye vs. Chris Healey, 8 rounds, heavyweight

Tommy Fury vs. Daniel Bocianski, 6 rounds, light heavyweight

Credit: Top Rank Boxing

You May Also Like

Boxing

The British Boxing Board of Control (BBBofC) issued a memo today stating that they are “not considering applications for any Ghanaian boxers.” This means...

African Cup Of Nations

The Black Stars’ appearance in the 2021 edition will be their 23rd time and they will be keen to end their long awaited drought...

Combat Sports

Malaysia based multi decorated Ghanaian kickboxer, Gerald Dah is in high spirits ahead of his latest fight this Friday after safely landing in Kuala...

Boxing

Ghanaian boxing legend, Azumah Nelson has been rated above Manny Pacquaio and just below Floyd ‘Money’ Mayweather in the list of the five greatest...