Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Boxing

3 Belts, 1 King: Beterbiev-Smith Fight Week for light heavyweight title unification clash here

In three days, one man will hold three light heavyweight world titles. WBC/IBF world champion Artur Beterbiev (17-0, 17 KOs) will battle Long Island’s WBO champion Joe Smith Jr. (28-3, 22 KOs) on Saturday evening at Hulu Theater at Madison Square Garden (ESPN, ESPN Deportes and ESPN+, 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT). The victor will be one step closer to attaining undisputed champion status.

Beterbiev, a two-time Russian Olympian who now calls Canada home, is the only world champion in boxing with a 100 percent knockout ratio. He has been a world champion since 2017 and is widely regarded as the division’s top fighter. Smith, a one-time union laborer, cemented his “Rocky” story when he defeated Maxim Vlasov in April 2021 to win the WBO title. He defended that title in January with a ninth-round stoppage over Steve Geffrard.

Before fight night, catch up on the action behind the scenes with the two-part Blood, Sweat and Tears: Beterbiev vs. Smith Jr. Part 1 & Part 2 are available to view on Top Rank’s YouTube Channel. Be sure to subscribe to Top Rank’s YouTube Channel for episodes of Top Rank Real Time, which gives fans a closer look at fight week festivities.

Thursday, June 16

PRESS CONFERENCE: Featuring Beterbiev, Smith Jr., Robeisy Ramirez, Abraham Nova, and Bruce Carrington.

1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT

  • Live on ESPN+ and Top Rank’s YouTube/Twitter pages

Friday, June 17

Max on Boxing Live Weigh-In Show: Beterbiev vs. Smith Jr.

4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT

  • Live on ESPN2 and Top Rank’s YouTube/Twitter pages
Saturday, June 18
ESPN, ESPN Deportes & ESPN+ (10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT)
Artur Beterbiev vs. Joe Smith Jr., 12 rounds, WBC/IBF/WBO Light Heavyweight World Titles

Robeisy Ramirez vs. Abraham Nova, 10 rounds, Vacant USBA & WBO Global Featherweight Titles

 ESPN+ (6:30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. PT)
Bruce Carrington vs. Adrian Leyva, 6 rounds, featherweight

Jahi Tucker vs. D’Andre Smith, 6 rounds, welterweight

Floyd Diaz vs. Daniil Platonovschi, 6/4 rounds, junior featherweight

Troy Isley vs. Donte Stubbs, 6 rounds, middleweight

Kieran Molloy vs. Jonathan Ryan Burrs, 4 rounds, junior middleweight

Wendy Toussaint vs. Asinia Byfield, 8 rounds, junior middleweight

Jahyae Brown vs. Keane McMahon, 6 rounds, junior middleweight.

Credit: Top Rank Boxing

You May Also Like

Boxing

The British Boxing Board of Control (BBBofC) issued a memo today stating that they are “not considering applications for any Ghanaian boxers.” This means...

African Cup Of Nations

The Black Stars’ appearance in the 2021 edition will be their 23rd time and they will be keen to end their long awaited drought...

Combat Sports

Malaysia based multi decorated Ghanaian kickboxer, Gerald Dah is in high spirits ahead of his latest fight this Friday after safely landing in Kuala...

Boxing

Ghanaian boxing legend, Azumah Nelson has been rated above Manny Pacquaio and just below Floyd ‘Money’ Mayweather in the list of the five greatest...