Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Abrepo have emerged winners of 2024 MTN Ashantifest Community Soccer tournament Zone C

MTN Ashantifest Community Soccer

Abrepo back in hunt for second MTN Ashantifest Soccer crown after winning Zone C

Maiden winners of the MTN Ashantifest Community Soccer competition, Abrepo are back in hunt for a second title after storming to the top of Zone C when the 2024 group stage landed at the Dichemso Otumfuor Park in Kumasi over the weekend.

Final standings of Zone C – 2024 Ashantifest Community Soccer tournament 

The annual community football tournament features 16 teams in and around the Ashanti Regional capital competing for a giant trophy, whooping cash prize and other incentives as an avenue for the communication giants to inspire and engage their cherished existing and potential subscribers in that part of the country, often held during the peak traditional festival season.

Abrepo players celebrate after winning the maiden MTN Ashantifest Soccer trophy in 2021

It began as an 8-team competition in 2021 and Abrepo were quickest out of the blocks, becoming the first ever champions after defeating Kotei Deduako 5-4 on penalties after a goalless final.

Following the expansion of the competition to involve 12 teams in 2022 and 16 last term, Abrepo couldn’t come anywhere near challenging for the trophy, after falling out in the group phase in both subsequent editions to their triumphant year.

But not 2024 when they even had to navigate their passage into the tournament proper via the preliminary round of 8, after the field ballooned to a staggering 20 communities.

Amakom players celebrate one of their 6 goals on the way to the last 8

3-2 Abrepo did overcome 2-time participants, Asokore Mampong to ensure they were one of 4 winners who joined the 12 who drew a bye into the round of 16 teams divided into 4 groups of 4 teams each, where they were housed in Zone C alongside regular campaigners Dichemso, Amakom and Aboabo.

After Amakom destroyed the Dichemso hosts 4-0 in the opening match to set the ball rolling at the Otumfuor Park on Thursday, Abrepo soon tied it atop the standings following a lone goal victory over Aboabo in match 2, despite missing a penalty.

Match day one did not end well for the 2021 champs however, as they also fell by the same result to Dichemso after Kwaku Taribo’s solitary strike revived the hosts’ own campaign and ensured all 3 sides finished on 3 points, with only Aboabo perched pointless at the bottom.

Match day 2 began Friday June 28 with Amakom making sure of maximum points from their opening two games after grinding out a 2-1 win over Amakom, on the goals of Marvin Owusu and group leading scorer, George Antwi AKA Henry who also hit a double against Dichemso.

Amakom finished runners-up in Zone C and will play in the quarter finals

The rattled Aboabo went home on a high though, after dragging Dichemso along following a magnificent 3-2 conquest of the hosts in match 5.

The 3 points garnered put Aboabo above Dichemso head-to-head and a relatively better goals difference temporarily had them dreaming of even upstaging their own conquerors, Abrepo should they lose to the already qualified Amakom in the final group game.

Cliffhanger: Captains and referees pose for the cameras before the decisive match number 6 between Abrepo and Amakom

It was not to be as Abrepo duly saw off Amakom 1-0 to jump to the top of the group on a head-to-head record despite an inferior goals aggregate after both finished on 6 points from two wins and one defeat each.

The group phase of the 2-month long competition concludes this weekend in Group D where Santasi, Bantama, Tafo and Mamponteng will battle for the remaining two quarter finals Thursday 4 to Friday 5 July at the Sofoline Astro Turf in Kumasi.


Zone C – 2024 MTN Ashantifest Community Soccer 


1. Abrepo 3 2 0 1 2 1 -1 6
2. Amakom 3 2 0 1 6 2 +4 6
3. Aboabo 3 1 0 0 4 5 -1 3
4. Dichemso 3 1 0 2 3 7 -4 3

*Abrepo and Amakom are through to the Quarter final stage.

Top Scorers
1. George Antwi ‘Henry’ -3 (Amakom)
2. Razak Gariba Oga – 2 (Aboabo)
3. Elvis Kyei Baffour ‘Awukye’ – 1 (Amakom)
4. Nana Kwame ‘LaLiga’ – 1 (Amakom)
5. Marvin Owusu – 1 (Amakom)
6. Fauzan Costa – 1 (Aboabo)
7. Alhassan Sunday – 1 (Aboabo)
8. Ahmed Jnr – 1 (Abrepo)
9. Emmanuel – 1 (Abrepo)
10. Kwaku Taribo – 1 (Dechemso)
11. Douglas Owusu ‘Baggio’ – 1 (Dechemso)
12. Kofi Taina – 1 (Dechemso)

You May Also Like


The British Boxing Board of Control (BBBofC) issued a memo today stating that they are “not considering applications for any Ghanaian boxers.” This means...

Olympic Games

Huang Guohui – who coached Vietnam’s swimming team at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games here – has died in quarantine after returning from the...

African Cup Of Nations

The Black Stars’ appearance in the 2021 edition will be their 23rd time and they will be keen to end their long awaited drought...

Combat Sports

Malaysia based multi decorated Ghanaian kickboxer, Gerald Dah is in high spirits ahead of his latest fight this Friday after safely landing in Kuala...