Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


SWAG Awards: Amoah, Kudus, Mensah vie for 2022 Personality of the Year

Joseph Paul Amoah, Mohammed Kudus and Abraham Mensah will vie for the Personality of the Year award at the 47th MTN Sports Writers’ Association of Ghana (SWAG) Awards slated for January 28, 2022, in Accra.

Sprinter, Joseph Paul Amoah won bronze in the men’s 200-metre final at the 2022 Commonwealth Games in Birmingham – becoming the first African to win a medal in the 200m event since 2006 and the first Ghanaian to win a medal in 200m since George Daniels in 1974.

Ajax Star Kudus had a breakthrough campaign with his club and national team in the period after review – winning the Eredivisie with his club side but perhaps his most significant moment came in the 2022 FIFA World Cup match against South Korea, where he scored 2 goals, cementing a 3–2 win over the opposing team.

Also in with a chance is teenage amateur boxer Mensah who won a silver medal in the Bantamweight division at the 2022 Commonwealth Games. The 19-year-old was the second Ghanaian to win a silver medal at the Birmingham games.

SWAG General Secretary Charles Osei Asibey, in a statement, said, “the shortlisted nominees went through a sturdy ritual of a careful but rigorous process in the determination of top performers for honours”.

About 40 sportsmen and women together with Sports Administrators and institutions in 29 categories will be rewarded for excellence in the year under review.

SWAG will also announce and decorate the Sports Journalist of the Year winner and SWAG President’s Awards respectively on the night.

The 47th MTN SWAG Awards will be held at the Accra International Conference Centre on January 28.

See the full list of nominees of the 2022 SWAG Awards nominees below:

Personality of the Year

  • Joseph Paul Amoah – Athletics
  • Mohammed Kudus – Football
  • Abraham Mensah – Amateur Boxing

Armwrestler of the Year

  • Grace Mintah – Female

Athlete of the Year, Female

  • Abigail Kwarteng, Triple Jumper
  • Deborah Acquah, Long Jumper
  • Rose Yeboah Amoanimaah, High Jumper

Athlete of the Year, Male

  • Joseph Paul Amoah – 200M
  • Benjamin Kwaku Azamati – 100M

Badminton Player of the Year

  • Alphous Kelvin

Boxer of the Year, Amateur

  • Abraham Mensah
  • Joseph Commey

Chess Player of the Year

  • Kwabena Adu Poku

Club of the Year

  • Ampem Darkoa Ladies FC

Coach of the Year

  • Ofori Asare – Amateur Boxing
  • Husseini Akueteh Addy – Armwrestling
  • Prosper Nartey Ogun – Asante Kotoko
  • Nana Darkwa, Ampem Darkoa

Cricketer of the Year

  • Samson Awiah Aweh

Cyclist of the Year

  • Anthony Boafo Boakye Dankwa

Discovery of the Year

  • Joseph Commey
  • Raphael Nii Ankrah

Dedication and Valour

  1. Lepowura Mohammed Nurudeen Jawula

Footballer of the Year (Male)

  • Andre Dede Ayew
  • Mohammed Kudus
  • Thomas Partey

Footballer of the Year (Female)

  • Blessing Shine Agomashie (ASFAR, Morocco)
  • Ophelia Serwaa Amponsah (Ampem Darkoa)
  • Doris Boaduwaa (Hasaacas Ladies, Ghana)

Footballer of the Player (Home Based)

  • Daniel Afriyie Barnieh – Hearts of Oak
  • Yaw Annor – Ashantigold
  • Ibrahim Danlad – Asante Kotoko

Hockey Player of the Year (Female)

  • Adizatu Sulemana (GRA Ladies)

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Awuley Quaye
  • Nii Dodoo Ankrah

Para-Athlete of the Year

  • Patricia Nyamekye

Professional Golfer of the Year

  • Kojo Barnii (Damang Golf Club)

Table Tennis Most Exciting Player

  • Israel Akili

Tennis Player of the Year

  • Samuel Osei Agbesi Antwi

Volleyball Player of the Year

  • Rashaka Katadat (Ghana Army)

SWAG TOP 5 Federations

  • Ghana Athletics
  • Ghana Armwrestling
  • Amateur Boxing
  • Pro Boxing
  • Ghana Football Association
  • Ghana Cycling
  • Ghana Tennis

Swimmer of the Year

  • Abeiku Gyekye Jackson

Special and Meritorious Awards

  • Kingsley Owusu Achiaw, Bechem United
  • Reks Brobbey (Ghana’s Fatest Human)
  • Christine Ashley, Chess
  • Ashford Tettey Oku, Football Administrator
  • Danny List, Professional Golfer
  • Tom Vernon, Right to Dream
  • Rustum Gameli Senorgbe

Corporate Awards

  • Max TV
  • SES HD+
  • OneonOne Foundation
  • Captain One Golf Society
  • Tennis Foundation

SWAG President’s Award

To be determined

SWAG Journalist of the Year

To be determined

Credit: Sports Writers Association of Ghana 

You May Also Like


The British Boxing Board of Control (BBBofC) issued a memo today stating that they are “not considering applications for any Ghanaian boxers.” This means...

African Cup Of Nations

The Black Stars’ appearance in the 2021 edition will be their 23rd time and they will be keen to end their long awaited drought...

Combat Sports

Malaysia based multi decorated Ghanaian kickboxer, Gerald Dah is in high spirits ahead of his latest fight this Friday after safely landing in Kuala...

Africa Games

The Vice President, Dr Mahamudu Bawumia has donated GH¢50,000 to the Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) towards this year’s Awards night scheduled for...