Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Who wins Happy FM Sports Fans top prize?

FANSAWARD2Ghana’s number one Sports Station, Happy FM have launched the third edition of the Sports Fans Award for the year 2015 billed to be staged at the plush Best Western Premier Hotel at Airport, Accra on December 26.

Black Stars coach, Avram Grant and his two captains, Asamoah Gyan and Andre Ayew will be gunning for the Sports Personality of the Year award which seeks to reward an exceptional performer for the year under review.

Coach Grant led the Black Stars to the finals of the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations where Gyan played a key role in ensuring that the Stars chalked that feat and was in blistering form for Al Ain before switching to Chinese side Shanghai SIPG where he scored four in eight games. Andre Ayew also emerged as top scorer of the AFCON and is currently doing very well for Premier League side Swansea City having found the net six times already.

Other categories which would be heavily contested are Footballer of the year where Udinese’s Agyemang Badu, Torino’s Afriyie Acquah and Andre Ayew will battle it out and the Ghana Premier League Player of the Year which will see the likes of Eric Opoku, Sabahn Laryea, Ahmed Adams and Kennedy Ashia fighting for the coveted award.

Bashir Hayford, coach of Ashgold who led the club to win the 2014/2015 Ghana Premier League trophy will lock horns with Henry Quansah who led the Ghana tennis team to win gold at the All Africa Games and Yusif Basigi who also led the Black Queens to win gold at the All Africa games for the Coach of the Year Award.

Below is the full list of nominees for the awards:

Sports Discipline of the Year – Football, Tennis, Athletics

Athlete of the Year – Atsu Nyamede, Patrick Yaw Obeng (Para Sports), Mary Zutah (Javelin)

Boxer of the year– David Bawa, Richard Commey, Emmanuel Tagoe

Ghana Premier League Player of the Year– Eric Opoku, Sabahn Laryea, Ahmed Adams, Kennedy Ashia

Administrator of the Year – Kudjo Fianoo, Linear Addy, Philipina Frimpong

Sports Coach of the Year – Bashir Hayford, Henry Quansah (Tennis)

Supporters Group of the Year – Die Hard, Millennium, Ghansu

Sports Personality of the Year (Over all) – Andre Ayew, Asamoah Gyan, Avram Grant

Unsung Hero  

Special Award

Footballer of the Year (Foreign) – Andre Ayew, Emmanuel Agyemang Badu, Afriyie Acquah

Footballer of the Year (Women) – Portia Boakye (Black Queens), Janet Agyiri (Black Queens), Wasila Diawura ( Princesses)



Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

You May Also Like


The British Boxing Board of Control (BBBofC) issued a memo today stating that they are “not considering applications for any Ghanaian boxers.” This means...

African Cup Of Nations

The Black Stars’ appearance in the 2021 edition will be their 23rd time and they will be keen to end their long awaited drought...

Combat Sports

Malaysia based multi decorated Ghanaian kickboxer, Gerald Dah is in high spirits ahead of his latest fight this Friday after safely landing in Kuala...

Africa Games

The Vice President, Dr Mahamudu Bawumia has donated GH¢50,000 to the Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) towards this year’s Awards night scheduled for...