Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


FIFA Puskás Award: Ghana’s Sandra Owusu-Ansah makes 11 best goals shortlist

The race to determine the winner of the FIFA Puskás Award 2021 is under way. Who will succeed 2020 recipient Son Heung-min in claiming the coveted crown? The 11-strong shortlist for the best goal during the award period has been revealed and the candidates are as follows:

  • Luis Díaz (COL) – Brazil v. Colombia [CONMEBOL Copa América] (23 June 2021)
  • Érik Lamela (ARG) – Arsenal FC v. Tottenham Hotspur FC [Premier League] (14 March 2021)
  • Valentino Lazaro (AUT) – Bayer 04 Leverkusen v. Borussia VfL 1900 Mönchengladbach [Bundesliga] (8 November 2020)
  • Riyad Mahrez (ALG) – Zimbabwe v. Algeria [CAF Africa Cup of Nations qualifying] (16 November 2020)

The winner will be selected by an international jury comprising a panel of FIFA Legends and registered fans from all over the world on Each of the two groups of voters within the jury has the same electoral weight.

The voting and award process related to the FIFA Puskás Award is detailed in the respective Rules of Allocation.

To keep up with the latest news about The Best, check out and FIFA’s accounts on FacebookYouTube and Twitter.

You can join the discussion about who should win the awards by using the hashtag

Credit: FIFA

You May Also Like


The British Boxing Board of Control (BBBofC) issued a memo today stating that they are “not considering applications for any Ghanaian boxers.” This means...

African Cup Of Nations

The Black Stars’ appearance in the 2021 edition will be their 23rd time and they will be keen to end their long awaited drought...

Combat Sports

Malaysia based multi decorated Ghanaian kickboxer, Gerald Dah is in high spirits ahead of his latest fight this Friday after safely landing in Kuala...


Ghanaian boxing legend, Azumah Nelson has been rated above Manny Pacquaio and just below Floyd ‘Money’ Mayweather in the list of the five greatest...