Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Defending champs, Canada are back in the 2023 Davis Cup finals to defend their title

Davis Cup

Meet the 8 finalists for the 2023 Davis Cup trophy

The first round of the Davis Cup Finals came to an end, with eight teams booking their respective spots in the knockout stages of the tournament.

Defending champions Canada topped Group A by winning all three of their ties against Italy, Chile and Sweden. Italy’s 2-1 win over Sweden in their final group fixture saw them finish second in front of Chile with two wins in three ties, and reach the quarterfinals.

Group B saw Great Britain win it by winning all of their fixtures. The ten-time champions beat Australia and Switzerland 2-1 before their final tie against France. Dan Evans gave the Brits the lead by beating Arthur Fils 3-6, 6-3, 6-4 before Ugo Humbert triumphed 7-6(5), 3-6, 7-5 over Cameron Norrie to level the scores.

The doubles match between Dan Evans and Neal Skupski, and Nicolas Mahut and Edouard Roger-Vasselin were the decider, and the former won 1-6, 7-6(4), 7-6(5) to ensure Great Britain’s clean sweep in the group stage.

It also meant that Australia qualified for the quarterfinals by being the runners-up in Group B.

Team USA were eliminated from the group stages of the Davis Cup Finals

Frances Tiafoe was unable to guide USA to the quarterfinals
Frances Tiafoe was unable to guide USA to the quarterfinals
The United States, who are the most successful team in Davis Cup history with 32 title wins, failed to reach the quarterfinals as they finished third in Group D. The Americans started the group stage well by beating Croatia 2-1. However, they lost to the Netherlands by the same margin.

Their final group tie against Finland was a winner-takes-it-all one, and the latter won as Otto Virtanen and Emil Ruusuvuori defeated the likes of Mackenzie McDonald and Tommy Paul. It was a disappointing end to the tournament for a pretty decent team that had two Top-15 singles players and two Top-5 doubles players.

Netherlands and Finland both qualified from Group D with two wins out of three ties.

Group C had three past champions: Spain, Czech Republic and Serbia. The Balkans were given a big boost as Novak Djokovic joined the squad before their second tie against Spain.

Wins from the World No. 1 and Miomir Kecmanovic saw Serbia book their place in the quarterfinals. They were joined by the Czech Republic, their opponents in the final group fixtures.

The Czechs won the tie 3-0 to win Group C while Spain ended their Davis Cup campaign on a high by beating South Korea 2-1.


You May Also Like


The British Boxing Board of Control (BBBofC) issued a memo today stating that they are “not considering applications for any Ghanaian boxers.” This means...

African Cup Of Nations

The Black Stars’ appearance in the 2021 edition will be their 23rd time and they will be keen to end their long awaited drought...

Combat Sports

Malaysia based multi decorated Ghanaian kickboxer, Gerald Dah is in high spirits ahead of his latest fight this Friday after safely landing in Kuala...


With unwavering grit and determination, a 76-year-old athlete has conquered a challenging marathon, earning herself a well-deserved standing ovation from the crowd. This remarkable...