Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Ghana FA chief Kurt Okraku went unopposed for a second term in office

Division One League

GFA Elective Congress set for October 5

The Ghana Football Association (GFA) has set Thursday, October 5, 2023, as the new date for the Elective Congress to be staged in Tamale.

According to a GFA statement yesterday, the congress agenda starts with the election of the FA president followed by election of Women’s Premier League representative, three Division One League and five Premier League representatives, in that order.

“In pursuant to Article 33 of the Ghana Football Association (GFA) Statutes 2019, the Executive Council of the Association has decided that the Extraordinary Session of Congress (Elective Congress) shall be rescheduled to Thursday, October 5, 2023, at 9:00 o’clock in the forenoon at the Global Dream Hotel, Tamale,” the statement said.

Confirmed candidates

Following the disqualification of George Afriyie, the incumbent GFA President, Kurt Edwin Simeon-Okraku, stands as the sole candidate for the top position, just as Gifty Oware-Mensah, who is the only contender for the women’s football clubs slot on the FA’s Executive Council (ExCo).

Gifty Oware-Mensah — stands unopposed for women’s football clubs slot on the Ghana FA’s Executive Council

The FA’s elections committee confirmed the list of successful applicants for the upcoming elections, with Messrs Mark Addo, Samuel Anim Addo, Eugene Nobel Nii Amon Noel, Gideon Fosu and Alexander Ababio as candidates for the three slots on the ExCo for Division One League clubs.

Ten candidates, Kingsley Osei Bonsu, Nana Sarfo Oduro, Fredrick Acheampong, Anthony Kwesi Aubynn, Ransford Anertey Abbey, Onyina Asenso, Edmund Kwabena Ackah, James Kwesi Appiah, Elloeny Amande and Raphael Tawiah Gyambrah will contest for five slots on the ExCo for Premier League clubs.

Similarly, Samuel Aboabire (Greater Accra), Daniel Agbogah (Volta Region), Simon Ehoma (Western Region), Linford Boadu Asamoah (Eastern Region), Agyemang Osei Tutu (Ashanti Region), Mahamadu Abu-Hassan (Northern Region) and Yahaya Sadugu Daudi (Upper West Region) were passed to contest for the positions of Chairmen, Regional Football Association.

The rest are Robert Otieku Duncan and Abdul Hayye Yartey (Central Region), Salifu Shaibu Zida and Abel Alonort Asoogo (Upper East Region), Dickson Kyere-Duah, Dr Charles Osei Antoh and Meshack Asante Ameyaw (Brong and Ahafo regions).

Credit: Graphic Sports

You May Also Like


The British Boxing Board of Control (BBBofC) issued a memo today stating that they are “not considering applications for any Ghanaian boxers.” This means...

Olympic Games

Huang Guohui – who coached Vietnam’s swimming team at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games here – has died in quarantine after returning from the...

African Cup Of Nations

The Black Stars’ appearance in the 2021 edition will be their 23rd time and they will be keen to end their long awaited drought...

Combat Sports

Malaysia based multi decorated Ghanaian kickboxer, Gerald Dah is in high spirits ahead of his latest fight this Friday after safely landing in Kuala...