Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


World Athletics confirm commission and Executive Board committee members

The composition of three World Athletics commissions and three Executive Board committees has been confirmed for the 2023-2027 period following approval from the World Athletics Council and Executive Board respectively.

On Sunday (5), the Council approved the recommendation from the Nominations Panel that the following individuals be appointed as Members of the Competition Commission, the Development Commission and the Governance Commission.

The role of the World Athletics commissions is to provide expertise and to advise the World Athletics Council, but if requested, they may also advise the President, Executive Board, Chief Executive Officer, senior management/directors, and other commissions.

Competition Commission

The purpose of the Competition Commission is to develop athletics events worldwide. Members are directly involved in topics such as competition programme formats, new events, innovation within events to make them more appealing, developing the skills of officials and more.

Chair: Raul Chapado (ESP)

Cydonie Mothersill (CAY)
Antti Pihlakoski (FIN)
Anna Riccardi (ITA)
German Pablo Chiaraviglio (ARG)
Jasmine Todd (USA)
Samantha Culbert (AUS)
Gavin Feng Yang (CHN)
Siddiq Ibrahim (SUD)
David Katz (USA)
Ellen Van Langen (NED)
Libor Varhanik (CZE)
Michael Whittingham (GBR)
Mariko Yamada (JPN)

Development Commission  

The Development Commission exists to support the growth, development, and administration of athletics at all levels of the sport aligned to the World Plan for Athletics 2022-2030.

Chair: Geoff Gardner (NFI)

Beatrice Ayikoru (UGA)
Annette Purvis (NZL)
Donna Raynor (BER)
Adille Sumariwalla (IND)
Anna Ryzhykova (UKR)
Adam Bishop (AUS)
Nick Bitel (GBR)
Marco Luque (BOL)
Karin Grute Movin (SWE)
Edith Skippings (TKS)
Tendayi Tagara (ZIM)

Governance Commission

The Governance Commission is involved in a wide variety of governance-related initiatives. Members are passionate about governance and improving and upholding the highest integrity, promoting better governance and ethical compliance standards, including through the development of educational materials, and ensuring that these are implementable, aligned, and embedded in World Athletics, Area Associations and Member Federations.

Chair: Francis Dodoo (GHA)

Yuko Arimori (JPN)
Sylvia Barlag (NED)
Aisha Praught-Leer (JAM)
Gerardo Acosta (PAR)
Carlota Castrejana (ESP)
Dagmar Freitag (GER)
Inaki Gomez (CAN)
David Grace (AUS)
Jinaro Kibet (KEN)
Alexander Leung Hong Shun (HKG)
Norman Wain (USA)

The Executive Board also recently confirmed the appointment of the members to each of the EB Committees for the 2023-2027 period: the Audit & Finance Committee, the Risk Committee and the Remuneration Committee.

These committees are established by the Executive Board to carry out some of its roles and responsibilities, and advising the Executive Board on audit & finance matters, on the remuneration and expenses policies and on risks faced by World Athletics.

Executive Board Audit and Finance Committee

The Audit and Finance Committee assists the Executive Board in fulfilling its responsibilities for financial reporting and internal control and in considering matters relating to financial management in order to safeguard financial stability and strengthen transparency and accountability.

Chair: Sunil Sabharwal (USA)

Adille Sumariwalla (IND)
Julie Asante (GHA)
Riaan Cloete (AUS)
Mary Hardy (GBR)

Executive Board Risk Committee

The Committee’s primary role is to review and advise the Executive Board on risks faced by World Athletics.

Chair: Hasan Arat (TUR)

Ximena Restrepo (COL)
Joanne Mortimore (CAN)
Jonathan Brown (GBR)
Maria Clarke (NZL)

Executive Board Remuneration Committee

The Committee’s primary role is to review and advise the Executive Board on the remuneration and expenses policies applicable to the President, Vice Presidents, Executive Board Members, Council Members, members of Commissions and Working Groups, the Chief Executive Officer and any related matters as may be decided by the Executive Board.

Chair: Abby Hoffman (CAN)

Jackson Tuwei (KEN)
Rob Clarke (GBR)
Renee Washington (USA)

Credit: World Athletics

You May Also Like


The British Boxing Board of Control (BBBofC) issued a memo today stating that they are “not considering applications for any Ghanaian boxers.” This means...

African Cup Of Nations

The Black Stars’ appearance in the 2021 edition will be their 23rd time and they will be keen to end their long awaited drought...

Olympic Games

Huang Guohui – who coached Vietnam’s swimming team at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games here – has died in quarantine after returning from the...

Combat Sports

Malaysia based multi decorated Ghanaian kickboxer, Gerald Dah is in high spirits ahead of his latest fight this Friday after safely landing in Kuala...