Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

African Cup Of Nations

Black Stars trio battle for 2015 SWAG Footballer of the Year Award

Black Stars trio battle for 2015 SWAG Footballer of the Year Award

Star Trio

Black Stars trio Asamoah Gyan, Andre Ayew and Afful Harrison

Black Stars trio Asamoah Gyan, Andre Ayew and Afful Harrison will be facing each for the 2015 SWAG player of the year award.

The names of the candidates were released on Monday in a press briefing at the Accra Sports Stadium chaired by the President of SWAG, Mr Kwabena Yeboah.
The trio played an instrumental role for their respective clubs and also helped the Ghana Black Stars team to win silver at last year’s African Cup of Nations held in Equatorial Guinea.
Gyan in the summer after moving from Al Ain to Shanghai SIPG helped the Chinese top-flight to finish the season at the second position.
However, Andre Ayew before switching camp from Marseille to Swansea was marvelous for the French side and in his first month in the EPL he was voted the Barclays Premier League player of the month.
Andre last Thursday in Abuja lost the prestigious African Footballer of the Year award to Pierre-Emerick Aubemeyang while Harrison Afful won silver in the MLS after his Columbus Crew side lost the trophy to Portland Timbers.
Harrison beat Andre and Gyan to the award last year and the three have come up again this year.
The award is scheduled to be held later in the year.


You May Also Like


The British Boxing Board of Control (BBBofC) issued a memo today stating that they are “not considering applications for any Ghanaian boxers.” This means...

African Cup Of Nations

The Black Stars’ appearance in the 2021 edition will be their 23rd time and they will be keen to end their long awaited drought...

Combat Sports

Malaysia based multi decorated Ghanaian kickboxer, Gerald Dah is in high spirits ahead of his latest fight this Friday after safely landing in Kuala...

Africa Games

The Vice President, Dr Mahamudu Bawumia has donated GH¢50,000 to the Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) towards this year’s Awards night scheduled for...