Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

CAF Awards

Revealed: Shortlists of women’s categories for CAF Awards 2023

CAF have announced the shortlists for the women’s categories for the CAF Awards 2023.

For the Player of the Year, ten players remain in the race for the prestigious individual honour. Whereas, the other categories namely Interclub Player of the Year, Goalkeeper of the Year, Young Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, National Team of the Year and Club of the Year, have five nominees each.

The ultimate winner of each category will be decided after votes from a voting panel consisting of CAF Technical Committee, media professionals from Member Associations, Head Coaches & Captains of Member Associations and clubs involved in the group stages of the Interclub competitions.

The Awards Gala will take place on Monday, 11 December 2023, at the Palais des Congrès, Movenpick, Marrakech, Morocco.

Full List of Nominees (in alphabetic order by Member Association):

Player of the Year (Women)

  1. Ajara Nchout Njoya (Cameroon, Internazionale Milano)
  2. Anissa Lahmari (Morocco, Levante Las Planas)
  3. Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco, AS FAR)
  4. Ghizlaine Chebbak (Morocco, AS FAR)
  5. Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria, Barcelona)
  6. Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC)
  7. Andile Dlamini (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)
  8. Hilda Magaia (South Africa, Sejong Sportstoto)
  9. Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa, Racing Louisville)
  10. Barbara Banda (Zambia, Shanghai Shengli)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Women)

  1. Imane Abdelahad (Morocco, SC Casablanca)
  2. Khadija Er-Rmichi (Morocco, AS FAR)
  3. Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC)
  4. Andile Dlamini (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)
  5. Kaylin Swart (South Africa, JVW)

Interclub Player of the Year (Women)

  1. Refilwe Tholakele (Botswana, Mamelodi Sundowns)
  2. Comfort Yeboah (Ghana, Ampem Darkoa)
  3. Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco, AS FAR)
  4. Ghizlaine Chebbak (Morocco, AS FAR)
  5. Lebohang Ramalepe (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)

 Young Player of the Year (not more than 21 years)

  1. Comfort Yeboah (Ghana, Ampem Darkoa)
  2. Nesryne El Chad (Morocco, Lille)
  3. Deborah Abiodun (Nigeria, Pittsburg Panthers)
  4. Esther Opeyemi Ajakaye (Nigeria, Delta Queens)
  5. Thubelihle Shamase (South Africa, University of Johannesburg FC)

Coach of the Year (Women)

  1. Mehdi El Qaichouri (SC Casablanca)
  2. Reynald Pedros (Morocco)
  3. Randy Waldrum (Nigeria)
  4. Desiree Ellis (South Africa)
  5. Jerry Tshabalala (Mamelodi Sundowns)

National Team of the Year (Women)

  1. Morocco
  2. Nigeria
  3. Senegal
  4. South Africa
  5. Zambia

Club of the Year (Women)

  1. Ampem Darkoa (Ghana)
  2. AS FAR (Morocco)
  3. SC Casablanca (Morocco)
  4. Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)
  5. JKT Queens (Tanzania)

Credit: CAF Communication Department

You May Also Like


The British Boxing Board of Control (BBBofC) issued a memo today stating that they are “not considering applications for any Ghanaian boxers.” This means...

African Cup Of Nations

The Black Stars’ appearance in the 2021 edition will be their 23rd time and they will be keen to end their long awaited drought...

Combat Sports

Malaysia based multi decorated Ghanaian kickboxer, Gerald Dah is in high spirits ahead of his latest fight this Friday after safely landing in Kuala...

Africa Games

The Vice President, Dr Mahamudu Bawumia has donated GH¢50,000 to the Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) towards this year’s Awards night scheduled for...