Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

CommonWealth Games

Ghana Weightlifting Federation (GWF) names members of Statutory Committees

GWF names members of Statutory Committees


The Ghana Weightlifting Federation (GWF) as part of its growth and expansion drive in making weightlifting the sports of choice for the youth of this country has named members of its statutory committees.

Members of the committees were selected after careful analysis of each individual by the Executive Board of the federation.

According to the President of the GWF, Mr Ben NunooMensah, “these individuals who have selflessly agreed to spend a bit of their time, energy, resource and intellect to the growth and development of the youth in this country and the board is grateful to them”.

There are five statutory committees under the GWF namely; Events and Competitions Committee, Coaching and Technical Committee, Research and Development Committee, Marketing, Sponsorship and Media Committee, Finance Committee and Medical Committee.

coaThe Events and Competitions Committee will have Mr Charles Osei-Asibey (Barrister) as chairman and Ashim Morton (Millennium Marathon), Hussein Addy, Moses AntwiBenefo (PJ), Clarence Amoatey and KwakuObeng (Myxtro) as members.

Coach Abubakar Taylor will also head the Coaching and Technical Committee and will have Daniel Darko, Samuel Adortey, Nii Otinkorang Ankrah, Edith Owusu Agyapong, Prof. Kyle Pierceand AfiAbotsi as members.

On the Research and Development Committee, Secretary General of the GWF, Mr Hussein Addy will chair the committee and will work with Abubakar Taylor, DrGodfredAkotoBoafo, NiiOtuLarkyne and Ruth Baffoe.

Marketing, Sponsorship and Media Committee will have MrAshim Morton as chairman with Prince Annan (Metro TV), Romeo Oduro (Despite Group of Companies), Benedict OwusuDankwa (Multimedia Group Limited), Chris Nunoo (Graphic Communications Group Limited), Kenneth OdengAdade (Marble Communications Group Limited) and Clarence Amoatey (Innova DDB) as members.

kenThe Medical Committee will also be headed by Dr. AkwesiAdomako with Dr. Philemon Mensah, Dr. Jonathan Quartey and Kenneth Odeng Adade as members.

On the Finance Committee, MrClifford Mettle will be their chairman and will work with Charles Osei-Asibey, Prince Annang, Benedict OwusuDankwa and PanyinBaffourAwuah as members.

In an interview with Mrs Edith OwusuAhyapong who spoke on behalf of the committee members, she thanked the Executive Board of the GWF for the confidence and trust reposed in them to help develop the game in the country.

She noted that “it is the responsibility of each and every one of us to give hope and future to these young boys and girls. That is the least we can each do for our society and for our nation”.

Credit:Sammy Heywood Okine

You May Also Like


Carl Lokko, the man they affectionately call Osu Lion lived up to the warrior name after dispatching off big foe, Ishmael Benjamin Coffie AKA...


MTN Ghana has launched the second edition of MTN Conquest, Ghana’s most competitive e-sports event, to award top players, promote e-sports and bring together...


Ace sports journalist and ring announcer, Mohammed Amin Lamptey has been re-appointed the Communications Director of the Ghana Boxing Authority (GBA), it is official....


Ghana’s Samuel Takyi advances to the Quarter Finals after a gritty display in his round of 16 bout at thetheTokyo Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games....